iRobot Scooba 230 Review

Unveiled at CES 2011, we remember the Scooba 230 as one of the more popular household appliances previewed at the show (it seems people LOVE their Roombas from the chatter we eavesdropped upon at the iRobot booth). But while iRobot’s cleaning devices have defined and cornered the robotic hard floor cleaning market, the wet-floor cleaning market is still being defined and evolving. iRobot is back, this time offering a small salad plate diameter sized intelligent robotic cleaner, designed to take care of wet/hard floor tasks in the kitchen and bathroom. Does the Scooba 230 eliminate the need for the ole mop and bucket, or should you keep scrubbing, Cinderella?

iRobot Scooba 230 Review

As someone who actually doesn’t mind cleaning the kitchen floor, it’s really the bathroom which is the most dreaded room in the apartment to clean. Ironically, it’s the smaller, but tighter, confines of our apartment bathroom, compared to the open and fairly room kitchen, that makes cleaning such a task to avoid. iRobot aimed to create a Scooba as effective as its larger siblings, sharing the same sensor detection system plus virtual walls to keep the Scooba within parameters, but at a significantly smaller size. And small it is, with the Scooba proving effective at getting into corners, between toilets and sink pedestals during our several sessions putting it through the tests. But more of about that later.

iRobot Scooba 230 Review

The Scooba 230 is extremely easy to setup

The Scooba 230 is extremely easy to setup (except installing the battery, which isn’t as perfectly “snap into place” as we’d like): plug-in and charge via wall socket, fill clean tank bladder with warm water and a packet of iRobot’s proprietary cleaning solution (we’d like the option to use 3rd party cleaners), turn it on (you’ll be greeted with a friendly chime), press the Clean button ontop and watch the Scooba do its robotic dance of cleaning. Just be sure your floors have been swept beforehand, since the Scooba only handles wet floor cleaning and isn’t a vacuum, Crumbs McCrumbly.

The Scooba sprays the cleaning solution in front, brushes by, and then sucks the dirty solution back, where it’s stored in another sealed bladder until emptied. It’s this process of replacing clean solution and refilling the emptied space with used solution which allows for the small form factor, with each bladder changing shape throughout the process. One can imagine the Scooba as being a very tiny version of those street cleaners, except iRobot designed their machine to clean more effectively using multiple passes.

iRobot Scooba 230 Review

The first few times you watch the Scooba scoot across your floors, it can be somewhat like watching a person getting off a fast going merry-go-around. The grey puck will spin, bump and change directions at seemingly random intervals. But inside are some very smart sensors which can recognize the dimensions of your room and make sure it hits all the spots across the floor eventually.

Read also:  Neato Botvac 70e Robot Vacuum Cleaner Review

Scooba can run into problems

But the Scooba can run into problems, as we experienced a few times while using it in both our bathroom and kitchen. It seems the sensitive sensors inside the Scooba can get confused when bright sunlight is reflected off a white (or in our case, off-white) surface. Over and over, the Scooba would stop dead in its tracks when running over sunlit spots on our floor; or it would avoid the sunny spots completely, as if it had a strong dislike for the golden rays of SoCal. Occasionally, the Scooba would also find itself stuck on the floor molding, the bumper system not strong enough to free it from its predicament, highlighting these cleaning devices are not yet there in regards to complete hands-off, unattended use.

So how does it clean? Well, that’s best left to be determined by how clean you are in the first place. We’re pretty good at vacuuming and washing our floors regularly, so the Scooba did a proficient job of polishing up what was only a minimally dirty floor. But looking at the sucked up water, we noted it did indeed clean the floors, the brackish solution revealing what had accumulated between cleanings. And this illustrates how we think the Scooba 230 is best used: as an in-between maintenance machine, but not a true replacement (yet) for the mop and bucket method.

When leaving the Scooba to do its thing in the bathroom, we could see how convenient it would be to turn it on, close the door, and then return back to a nicely washed floor. The adaptive cleaning sensors was very good at covering the whole floor in both shorter 20 minute sessions and complete 40 minute sessions. We’d recommend opening the windows, both to keep cleaning solution fumes at a minimum and also to speed up the drying process (the floors will still be wet when finished).

iRobot Scooba 230 Review

The Bottom Line: The iRobot Scooba 230 is the closest we’ve seen to having your own bathroom janitor, and does a decent job of being a regular custodian between more hands-on washing. You’ll likely need to clean less often if you use the Scooba reguarly, making it ideal for busy working stiffs or otherwise lazy housekeepers. But you’ll also have to keep an eye out for the Scooba, for its propensity for getting stuck makes it somewhat like hiring your little nephew to wash the floors: it requires supervision (though, unlike your nephew, you won’t have to tell the Scooba, “you missed a spot”).

Read also:  Neato Botvac D75 Robot Vacuum Cleaner Review

iRobot Scooba 230 Pros And Cons

iRobot Scooba 230 Pros:

Small for factor allows for corners and small space cleaning, practically one-button operation, virtual walls features keep the Scooba contained where it needs to stay, reduces the need for deep cleaning sessions.

iRobot Scooba 230 Cons:

Strong sunlight on floor can confuse sensors, cannot be left unattended due to habit of getting stuck, charging/battery setup isn’t as refined as hoped, not yet truly a replacement for elbow grease.

Our Ratings: Strong Recommend

Apartment Therapy Media makes every effort to test and review products fairly and transparently. The views expressed in this review are the personal views of the reviewer and this particular product review was not sponsored or paid for in any way by the manufacturer or an agent working on their behalf. However, the manufacturer did give us the product for testing and review purposes.

Source: apartmenttherapy.com

gregoryhan

Design Ideas Mail
Once a Month New Design Ideas

You will receive:

  • Top Ten Design Ideas In Different Rooms.
  • Tips and Trick to Use in Your Room Decoration.
  • DIY Design Projects.
100% Anti-Spam Protection100% Anti-Spam Protection
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

About the author

Home ImprovementerHome Improvementer

Related

Then people think about robot vacuums, the first word that probably comes to mind is "Roomba," the signature...

JOIN THE DISCUSSION

Comments

  • H. Grove 26.02.2015 at 06:01

    Between my tendonitis and my husband’s work schedule, it’s hard to keep the house as clean as we’d like. Not too long ago, my awesome mother got us a Scooba 230 + Essentials Kit. You charge up the Scooba, slip on the bottom plate, open up both the fill and empty ports (so the inner bag that holds the water can expand as much as possible), pour in a small amount of non-toxic enzyme cleaner (the Scooba comes with several sample packets, but you’ll want to buy a couple of bottles from iRobot). Fill with warm (not hot) water, close both ports, put the Scooba in the middle of the floor to be cleaned, press the power button, and press the `clean’ button. The first time I used the Scooba it gave me an error message indicating that it hadn’t been filled with water and solution even though it had; the fix for this is to give a good shake to prime the pumps.

    From there it combines various types of movement in order to clean as much of the floor as possible. It releases the water with enzymatic solution, runs its scrubbing bristles over everything, then squeegees and vacuums up the dirty water into a separate holding tank (so you aren’t cleaning the floor with dirty water). When it finishes, you hold it over the sink with the “empty” port facing down, open that port, and let the dirty water drain out.

    The virtual wall has three settings for length of beam, so you can set it to guard small apertures or large room openings. Note that the beam has sort of a cone shape, so the longer the space you need it to guard, the more you need to angle the virtual wall outward to avoid its covering some of the space you’d actually like cleaned. This takes a little playing with to get right.

    The Scooba can be used on sealed hardwood, linoleum, and tile. I think the sealing on our hardwood is a little rubbed down, so I haven’t dared to use it on that, but it does a fantastic job on the tile kitchen floor and the linoleum bathroom floor. While the Scooba looks rather small, that’s to a good purpose–it can fit behind the average bathroom toilet.

    There are a couple of handy things to keep in mind. One is that it will leave the floor a little wet even though it vacuums up the dirty water. Just give it a few minutes to dry. Since the cleanser is a non-toxic enzymatic cleanser, you don’t particularly have to worry about getting your feet (or your pets’ paws) a bit wet. Note that the Scooba is NOT designed as a vacuum cleaner–you need to vacuum, sweep, or run its Roomba counterpart right before using it; otherwise hair and other cruft can gum up the works. Also, it’s going to have a tough time with particularly grimy floors, so make sure you run it frequently. I find weekly is about right.

    The larger the room, the greater the possibility the Scooba might miss an area, particularly if it needs to find and fit through a small opening. You can handle this by putting it right in the middle of the area it missed (or any particularly dirty area you want to make sure it finds) and starting it up there. In general, however, it’s surprisingly good at covering an area. If you run it frequently it’ll eventually catch everything anyway.

    Even with my tendonitis it’s easy for me to run the Roomba or Scooba. I typically run one or both, depending on the room, on one or two rooms a day. It takes a minimal amount of effort and time.

    Reply
  • Christy 25.02.2015 at 06:54

    I hate to clean floors. Seriously. It’s loud, time consuming and annoying. Five years ago I bought two iRobot products – one vacuums and the other mops. I’ve used them every single week to keep my 3,400 square foot home clean. The main floor is all hardwoods with vinyl in the kitchen. My floors are clean and in pristine condition thanks to these products.

    After 5-years they were getting tired so I replaced them. This model works great! I love how much time and energy it saves were I to mop by hand each week – which I don’t. So my house is far cleaner without any more effort.

    I will never be without iRobot’s. They’re awesome.

    P.S. Only replaced the batteries once in 5-years. Never had a problem as long as they were regularly maintained. It’s as easy as it gets.

    Reply
  • Doc H 24.02.2015 at 06:39

    Owner of 2 Roombas, Mint Plus and the larger Scooba; this one fills a gap for small size in small rooms. Not as thorough as the larger Scooba, and it doesn’t vacuum, it does do a decent cleaning job, is more compact and gets in spaces the larger Scooba won’t; it’s also very quiet. It’s relatively easy to clean (replaceable floor plate and wheels come off), is quicker that its cousins, and doesn’t get stuck as much. It is fairly well sealed against water entering where it shouldn’t – the battery has a rubber gasket around the top for example – which is a good thing because you essentially fill it up and clean it under the sink faucet, but it’s not submersible. It’s more practical for washing the floor in smaller bathrooms and laundry rooms than its big sister. Lighter weight (and has a handle!), so it’s easier to port around.

    You do need to be sure the battery is flush or it won’t charge, as someone earlier pointed out. It’s also “wetter” than the vacuuming Scooba, so definitely wouldn’t use it on wood floors, but hard surfaces dry relatively quickly after use. It has two settings, short (20 min) and long (45 min), for different size rooms, and you can run the short cycle twice without emptying. You don’t need as much of the cleaning solution as they recommend (leaves sticky streaks – use half), and plain water or water and vinegar works fine. Like all the other cleaning and vacuuming robots, it’s not designed to clean everything to a sparkle, one pass. The philosophy and action of these robots is to maintain a clean floor with frequent use, over time, which they do remarkably well all things considered.

    The Achilles heel of this little guy is the battery life: only good for maybe three small rooms – and that’s a stretch – on one charge, and recharging takes 8 hours. There’s no separate charger, so you can’t easily keep an extra charged battery ready to go either (you could charge one in the machine and keep it handy, but shelf life unknown). I’m going to get a spare battery ($30) to see how long it will maintain a charge just to experiment.

    Life’s not perfect, so for cleaning a couple of bathrooms in one run, without a lot of prep (floors do need to be swept relatively free of debris first), it does its duty; we like it in combination with our other ‘bots, it complements the big Scooba well for small rooms and quick cleanups, and it’s pretty much a “set and forget” gadget, so pricey, but worth it if you hate routine scrubbing of the floors in the ‘loo!

    *Update
    In spite of the negatives pointed out here, there are positive aspects to this robot. Its small size and short cycle make it easier to use and clean up than the larger washing robots, and it’s handier for smaller rooms. Its not designed for larger floor washing tasks. That said, the battery is a weak spot, and would definitely benefit from a battery-only charger to keep a spare handy. I now have 2 batteries, and the trial of keeping one charged wasn’t successful – these batteries will only hold a charge a short time off the charger (a few days or weeks at most), and you have to swap out batteries in the unit to charge it. So if you do purchase one, keep in mind the limitation of a couple of small to medium rooms, then recharge for several hours; one star off….

    Reply
  • Laptop nut 23.02.2015 at 08:12

    I have owned the 230 for a year and am very happy with it, even though it is not perfect. The machine works best on glazed ceramic tile. The 230 will not vacuum your floor. You have to first have it broom-clean or vacuumed. But it will wash your floor very effectively! When you use a regular mop and pail, all of the dirty water just sits on the floor and dries. The 230 sucks up its dirty water, and when the cycle is complete, you just pour it down the drain. When you see how filthy that water is, you will really like the 230. It is especially nice around the toilet bowl, cleaning areas that humans have a hard time reaching. The enzyme cleaning fluid is very effective (and economical since one only uses a tiny capful), but it does leave a slight film on the tile. If you have areas of stuck-on dirt, it is best to clean them off first. Then, with each use the floor will get cleaner and cleaner.
    I find two limitations:
    1. It takes 8 hours to recharge. That is probably because it uses a very small charger. This should be changed by iRobot in an upgrade.
    2. Sometimes it does just stop in min-cycle for no apparent reason. I cannot find the pattern.

    So, if you want a machine to wash (not vacuum) your floors, this is it!
    UPDATE: After one year the small tube on the bottom became crimped (a design flaw) and no water would come out. The company gave me a new unit that works much better than the original, hardly every getting stuck. After about 1.5 years, however, the unit died. The problem was the battery, but the tech support did not know that. I got a new battery and it works as well as new. In short, I continue to be impressed.

    Reply
  • B. Matthews 22.02.2015 at 12:54

    I debated whether to ask Santa for this little robot, based on the prior reviews. This household is very technology-forward: we invested in solar when people were telling us it was crazy & just a fad, we’ve worked off several start-ups, and we truly believe that sometimes you need to take a risk with something that is still relatively new. So, we got one!

    First off, understand what this is for: washing your floor. It’s not a vacuum, so you will use your Roomba or Neato (or older technology sweeping device) to pick up all loose hair and crud. Then you let this little devil do its work.
    I have two types of tile floors, as well as commercial-grade rubber flooring to clean. This Roomba does a great job, and the fact that it buzzes along under the toe kick area of the sink as well as all around the toilet (this baby is tiny, which is why it’s so well suited for this job) sealed the deal. All my surfaces are slightly-to-very textured (so we don’t slip when the floors are wet) so we did not experience the robot spinning its wheels as some other reviewers noted.

    The virtual wall works great. Again, just followed the instructions that came with the unit and had no problems.

    I’ve used both the long and short cleaning cycle, and have used the enzyme cleaner, but have added only 1/4 t or so to 13/4C water.

    I purchased the Scooba 230 + Essentials kit in order to have an extra virtual wall, replacement base plate, and the cleaner. I think this is the way to go so you are set up for a variety of rooms.

    The floors are clean, and I didn’t have to get on my hands and knees to get around the toilet. In the few weeks we’ve had this Scooba, the floors have been washed once a week – this did not happen B.S. (before Scooba). Yes, I prep the robot with solution before it sets off on the job, and I empty its dirty water and clean its base plate after its done. This is a worthwhile trade off for the work it does for me. And as another reviewer shared, the floors will get cleaned more often because the robot is set to do it. I couldn’t agree more.

    I wish Scooba 230 had a simple LCD panel as the Neato vacuum has to help me understand its messages, vs the series of beeps it produces. But that is currently the only deficiency I can note for the job it was designed to do. An in short time, I’ll not have to refer to the manual to know what it’s chirping about.

    If you want clean bathroom floors and would rather not do them yourself, get this Scooba!

    Reply
  • EEProf 21.02.2015 at 17:07

    Since my robot is still under warranty, the manufacturer responded quickly to my complaint and sent me a replacement unit. I had to cover the shipping cost of returning the defective unit. The replacement unit I received has a bladder made of some new material (it’s blue now instead of the opaque material of the previous version). Hopefully this one lasts longer. Plus 2 stars for customer service.

    Original Post:

    I purchased my Scooba 230 in April of this year from a brick and mortar store. I had read several reviews before my purchase, so I wasn’t surprised by the lack-luster performance. However, I’ve ran the robot through a total of approximately twelve 40 minute cleaning cycles. Today, I went to fill the robot with water and discovered the active bladder has a hole in it. It is now effectively useless. I’m very dissatisfied that this robot died after less than 60 days.

    Reply
  • M. Lashbrook 20.02.2015 at 08:54

    I am an iRobot owner. I love my robots.

    That being said… I am quite aware of their limitations. They are a machine.

    My previous scooba was getting quite old…. Tempermental… Persnickety… Still loved him. Til his battery finally went dead for good. As a scooba owner I knew the big guy couldn’t reach the corners, under the cabinets, all the way to the wall, and tight spaces. He was cumbersome, heavy, and noisy. So I read all of the new reviews…. I was hesitant, but I knew this little guy would go where I wanted him too. I ordered him anyways.

    He came last night when I got home from work. I giggled when I saw how small he was… My girls ooh-ed and aaah-ed while I unpacked him. Popped in the battery and charged him up. I couldn’t wait to get home tonight to get him going. Filled the tank, added vinegar, and pressed the button. Do-do-do do dat do!

    He is a whiz! Zipping all over the floor twice as quickly as the old model. I actually had to set up the wall sensors because he escapes very easily. Now, here’s the part as an experienced user. He washes 150sq ft… That’s small. Put up the virtual walls… Do one room at a time. He hummed along much quieter then the big models, wheels moved great on my tile floors, and cleaned like a pro. There is a handle to pick him up and dump out the gross water. Swishes some clean water and fill. He was ready to go for round two with no extra charge. I loved that I could hold him easily and pull off the bottom plate to wash all the cleaning parts. I didn’t have to take it all apart!

    I AM OVER THE MOON!!!! I don’t know what the others are talking about. I would order 100 of these!

    Reply
  • J. M. P. Garcia crilincho 19.02.2015 at 07:49

    I have a roomba 580 and I love it. That’s why I lately bought this scooba 230. First of all it’ s like a simplified version of the irobot bots family: it has smaller size, it has a very poor alert system where you really can’t tell what’s wrong with it, no dock, etc. It just beeps and stalls a lot. I use it on a small terrace where I have some seats and it bumps againts a seat and stops. It also stops if it gets into too much water… water that comes from its inside! I’t also stops suddenly and you can’t tell if its beacause of low battery until you plug it. I said it in another forum; this product should only cost something like 100 dollars.
    I hope all irobots in the future come with a wifi connection to update them, because this 230 scooba needs an urgent firmware revision.

    Reply
  • Alan Sieja 18.02.2015 at 10:25

    I own a Roomba 770 and have to say that I love the Scooba 230 more. It’s quieter and quicker at cleaning.

    Maybe it’s not for every situation, which could be why there are so many bad reviews, but in the month I’ve had it, it’s worked perfectly for me. It’s obviously intended for smaller areas, and those are exactly what I have. We don’t have kids, so the floors aren’t hugely dirty, but we do have two cats. I make sure to sweep up the cat hair first, but I had to do that before hand mopping anyway.

    I have a small kitchen (10′ x 10′ floor area with no dining furniture) and three bathrooms in our condo. All are 24″ smooth marble tile with white grout. I only use the virtual wall in the kitchen to close the opening into the dining room. With the bathrooms, I just place the Scooba in there and close the doors. I use the 20 minute cycle so I do the kitchen and master bath on one use, and the guest and spare bath on the other. The charge is long – over night – so I do the cleaning on a Saturday and Sunday every week. Before this I’d mop about once a month. So using the Scooba has definitely made our condo cleaner. (Because the Scooba has worked so well for me, I’ve been using it on the kitchen twice a week now.)

    So far the Scooba has cleaned flawlessly. You load it with warm water and the cleaning solution, then place it on the floor, push the button and off it goes. Mine has never gotten stuck or left puddles of water anywhere. In about 20 minutes the floor is all shiny and cleaned. Then I move it to another room and let it finish. It cleans under the kitchen cabinets and around the toilet. The water comes out brownish/black and dirty so I have the evidence it’s cleaning. When done I just pop the bottom plate off and wash it with dish soap and that’s the extent of the cleaning. Then it gets plugged into the charger and it’s ready for next time.

    In all honesty, for my situation, I can’t think of anything negative to write about this product. (Well the price is a bit steep, but so are the Roombas. I guess if they help me reduce the time I spend on chores, it’s worth it to me.)

    Reply
  • D. Knight Dee Dee 17.02.2015 at 07:03

    I do like this Scooba…,

    .in spite of the poor reviews. First, let me say where I’m coming from so you can tell if this will apply to you. I hate mopping floors. I mean I really hate it, so I am tolerant of anything that will mop for me. Also, I already own a Roomba Vacuuming Robot and the larger Scooba 350 Robot. (Did I mention that I hate cleaning floors?) Also, I have vinyl floors in my bathrooms, so I can’t say how well this will work with tile.

    I use this for what it’s intended, and so far, I’m very pleased with it. I haven’t had it long (it’s an early Christmas present), so I’ll update this review if I change my mind later.

    I use this in my bathrooms and the small area of hard floor by my front door. It does a good job and it gets into nooks and crannies better than the larger Scooba. It gets around the toilet! (Which is what I really wanted) I don’t plan on using this one in the kitchen–for that, I recommend big brother (sister?). According to the iRobot website this one is recommended for about 150 sq ft and the larger one is for 500 sq ft. In my experience, that is about right.

    So my recommendation is to choose which Scooba to get based on the size you have to clean. By the way, I’ve had the large Scooba for over two years and it is still going strong.

    Reply
  • online shopper 16.02.2015 at 08:24

    This robot does NOT work on tile floors.

    Tile floors become slippery when wet, so the robot just spins its wheels.

    Another problem is that its bumper does not react to obstacles too well, so in addition to half the time stuck in the middle of the room (because of traction problems), it spends another half of the time against the wall. Maybe 10% of the time is spent actually cleaning. That puts a lot of load on tires, so I expect this to get worse over time. Wheel-spinning also confuses its cleaning algorithm, because the robot “thinks” it is moving in a straight line all this time.

    I did not return this robot right away. I tried using it in different conditions: I thought of maybe keeping it, but a couple of months later it was clear that I can’t use it like this, so I contacted iRobot Customer Service.

    Now iRobot Customer Service…

    After learning that this has been happening since day one, iRobot asked me to “clean” the robot, and see if that fixes it. (How?) After a couple of more e-mails they told me to contact iRobot Sales department to return it, which I did. Sales said I am “outside of 30-day return window” so they won’t take it back.

    If my robot is defective and they can’t fix it I deserve a refund. If it is not defective, then this is a design flaw. Then why are these sold at all, and advertised as bathroom cleaning robots? (Bathrooms have mostly tile floors.) And why can’t I get my money back?

    To get iRobot a better shot at diagnosing the problem, I even made a video for them. But they don’t let you upload videos because the file is “too big” for their servers. OK then, I used my own FTP server, but then they said that they couldn’t play it. I guess I will post it here then so that everyone could see.

    I own 2 Roombas, a “big” Scooba, and a Neato. This “small” Scooba 230 is the only one from my robo-cleaner fleet that disappoints me in any way, and it is a big disappointment.

    Bottom line for the robot: useless, or nearly useless.
    Bottom line for iRobot Customer Service: Not very helpful. I guess they deserve some credit as I eventually did get my money back (see update below).

    Reply
  • Harry 16.02.2015 at 08:10

    I use the scooba 230 in combination with a roomba 555 (which is more or less the European version of the American 560 model). The roomba is scheduled to wipe the floors of my complete flat three times a week. Unless the roomba I don’t use the scooba to mop my whole place at once. Generally I use it to mop the most trafficked parts. I let it mop the bathroom (small tiles) and the place behind the kitchen counter (PVC), each in the short mopping cycle, and the hallway (large tiles) in the full mopping cycle every week. And I guess that’s what it is designed to do. If you think you can use it like a roomba or the bigger scooba models to take care of your complete house in one run, you’ll be probably disappointed.
    Some say the scooba 230 leaves streaks behind, this problem is solved by using only half of the recommended amount of cleaning solution. It carries only about half the amount of water than the big scoobas, so why should it need the same amount of cleaning solution? By using less of it you not only solve the problem of the streaks, you also save money since you don’t have to buy a new bottle every so often.
    The scooba 230 sometimes takes it’s time to get moving again after it bumps into an obstacle. I think that’s because it does not have the little third wheel the roombas have. I think this wheel is used to meassure velocity (that’s why it’s black and white: to count revolutions by means of an optical sensor). Without this information the little scooba cannot realise as easily as the roomba that it has actually stalled. But every time I observed this problem I did not intervene at once and just waited to see what happens next. And actually every time this problem occurred, after a couple of seconds the scooba did change it’s direction all on it’s own. So basically this is not really a problem, the scoobas moving pattern just does not look as aesthetically as it looks on my roomba.
    Since you have to fill in water and cleaning solution before each run and since you have to rinse the fresh water and the slop bladders and clean the bottom plate after each run, it basically takes up almost as much of your time as if you where mopping these relatively small parts of your home by yourself.
    So does it make sense to purchase a scooba 230?
    In theory: No!
    In real life: Yes!
    Why? Because when you’re going to work from Monday to Saturday you’re not too enthusiastic about mopping floors on Sundays. But nursing a robot instead is somewhat fun to do. That’s why in my case the most trafficked parts of my home are now actually mopped once a week. Before I bought this little guy the Sunday mopping was canceled quite often. So after all the scooba 230 actually does improve the tidiness of my home.

    Reply