iRobot Roomba 870 Review

The Roomba 870 is a robotic vacuum that will clean your floors for you. It can be safely used on all flooring types.

This includes carpet of varying heights, hardwood flooring, tile, and linoleum. It won’t scratch the flooring and it won’t damage furniture by bumping into it. There are soft edges that serve as bumpers to prevent that from occurring.

For anyone with pets, high traffic in their home, or allergies, this is a remarkable tool that will keep it looking and feeling amazing. This is a great tool that helps keep a home clean without you spending so much time to make it happen! Other vacuums can pick up dirt but they don’t get the same level of allergens and pet hair removed.

Speed

The technology of the Roomba 870 means that it can clean the floors in your home in about half the time of the previous models. If you have a large home or you need to clean them often, this is a very important element of this robotic vacuum. Getting results quickly and also efficiently means the device can last longer as it won’t be working as hard to complete the same tasks. Studies show that the Roomba 870 can clean an averages sized floor in about 10 minutes. That is a very good speed!

iRobot Roomba 870 Speed

Comparison studies to competitor products show that the Roomba 870 can do the work in about ½ the time that the others can. They also noted that this model picks up more dirt, dust, and pet hair than the others. When the Roomba 870 was programmed to complete a room that a competitor just did, the amount of debris in the collection bin was unbelievable. Speed compared with quality results means this is a great product to consider!

Battery

The Roomba 870 features the XLife Battery. It offers twice the battery life of the previous Roomba models. When cleaning is done, the Roomba 870 will automatically go back to the docking station. It will also start to recharge any battery life that it has used during the previous cleaning session.

Extra batteries for this product can be purchased for about $40. Having an extra on hand is a good idea if you have a large home to keep clean. The overall lifetime of the batter varies. It depends on the amount of use and the home environment. A backup battery on hand is a good idea. Then you aren’t stuck waiting to clean your floors until you get a replacement battery ordered and delivered. The battery is very easy to replace in this device.

Performance

The iAdapt Technology featured in the Roomba 870 allows it to clean better than its competitors. The software and the sensors allow it to successfully clean the rooms in your home. It doesn’t matter what size they are or what their shape is. The device will cover the entire area of flooring several times and the end result will be a very clean floor for you to enjoy!

This same technology also eliminates the robotic vacuum bumping into furniture or getting stuck.The sensors prevent it from getting stuck going from one floor in your home to the next. It also ensures that the device won’t be tumbling down stairs as it moves around to complete the cleaning. It is able to get under curtains and other items in your home too so that those areas don’t accumulate dust or debris.

Read also:  iRobot Roomba 560 Robotic Cleaner Review

The sensors also identify heavy traffic areas where in depth cleaning needs to take place. These areas will be vacuumed over more times than the rest of the flooring. It offers a back and forth pattern, the same as you would use if you were spending your time physically moving a vacuum cleaner back and forth over such areas of your flooring.

iRobot Roomba 870 Performance

The round design of the Roomba 870 can be a turn off initially to some consumers. They worry that it won’t be able to clean well in the corners and along edges or under counters. However, this robotic cleaner has brushes that extend outward so it is able to get into all of the areas easily.

From time to time, the HEPA filters should be cleaned to keep the ultimate level of performance with the Roomba 870. They are easy to take out and to clean with an air compressor or even canned air for cleaning a computer system. There is also replacement HEPA filters for it offered in sets of three for about $25.

Don’t worry if you have several types of flooring in your home. The Roomba 870 is able to identify the different flooring types. The system will automatically adjust to create the right features for that particular floor it is cleaning. You don’t have to do anything at all to set it up for the different flooring types in your home.

The Roomba 870 features the Virtual Wall Program. This allows you to keep it in only the rooms that you want and out of others. If you would like it to clean only certain rooms in the house, this feature will allow you to get that type of performance.

iRobot Roomba 870 Review

Cost

The Roomba 870 costs about $600 directly at the retail site which is a large investment for a vacuum for the average consumer. You can now save about 5% by ordering through this link at Amazon.Yet the amount of time it saves and the level of cleanliness that is offers make it more than worth the investment. Most consumers are very happy with the purchase and feel that it was money well spent. If you buy one online, look for those sites that offer free shipping.

Warranty

There is a 1 year warranty offered with the Roomba 870. The battery comes with a 6 month warranty. The warranty on both will be void if the device hasn’t been used as it was designed. Make sure to read all of the details relating to the warranty information.

Overall

The Roomba 870 only weighs about 8 ½ pounds. It is very durable and it can get the job done in less time than you imagined! Your floors will be very clean – not only from dirt but also from dust and allergens. The product is easy to use but the advanced technology it features enables it to be programmed and to get outstanding results.

Read also:  Neato XV Signature Review

Programming is one of the frustrating elements of most robotic vacuums. It can be difficult to go through a complex set up to get it all in place. Especially when changes need to be made. The Roomba 870 though isn’t hard to program at all. It offers a simple, straight forward method that gets results. Consumers are very excited about this feature and the fact that it helps them get the most value from their robotic vacuum.

By: Patrick Sinclair / allhomerobotics.com

iRobot Roomba 870 Pros And Cons

Pros of the iRobot Roomba 870

  • Easy to use
  • Cleans effectively
  • Cleans under furniture
  • Efficient

Cons of the iRobot Roomba 870

  • Noisy
  • Small debris bin
  • Clogs easily
  • Heavy

iRobot Roomba 870 Features

The AeroForce Performance Cleaning System

Ideal for homes with pets and allergy sufferers, Roomba 870 traps dirt, particulates and allergens, drawing them into the sealed, HEPA-filtered bin. Here’s how AeroForce works:

  • Tangle-Free AeroForce Extractors: Dual extractors grab and break down dirt and debris from any floor type. No brushes mean no tangles for you.
  • High-Efficiency Vacuum: A compact and efficient high-powered motor provides a 5X improvement in air power than previous Roomba generations.

Effortless Cleaning

Dirt happens every day. Keeping up with it just got easier.

  • Docks And Recharges: Roomba returns to its Home Base® to dock and recharge.
  • iRobot® XLife™ Extended Life Battery: iRobot® XLife™ Extended Life Battery delivers twice as many cleaning cycles as previous Roomba batteries, doubling the time before you may need to replace your Roomba battery.
  • Avoids Off-Limit Areas: A Virtual Wall® keeps Roomba in the rooms you want to vacuum and out of the ones you don’t.
  • Lets You Know When Bin Is Full: Indicator lets you know when bin needs to be emptied.

iAdapt® Responsive Navigation Technology

In coverage tests, Roomba out-cleans the competition thanks to iAdapt Technology, iRobot’s advanced system of software and sensors. iAdapt enables Roomba to find its way around any shape or size of home, covering every area of floor multiple times.

  • Finds Dirt And Debris: With Dirt Detect Series 2, Roomba uses optical and acoustic sensors to find dirt and perform concentrated cleaning.
  • Vacuums Along Wall Edges: Roomba uses Wall-Following Technology to clean right up to wall edges and kickboards.
  • Won’t Get Tangled Up: Anti-Tangle Technology keeps Roomba from getting stuck on cords, carpet fringe and tassels.
  • Won’t Fall Down Stairs: Cliff-detection sensors allow Roomba to avoid stairs and other drop-offs.
  • Pushes Past Soft Obstacles: Light-Touch Bumper Technology accurately discerns soft barriers from solid barriers, allowing Roomba to go under curtains, bed skirts and couch skirts.

What’s In The Box:

  • 1 iRobot Roomba 870
  • 1 iRobot® XLife™ Extended Life Battery
  • 2 Virtual Walls (batteries included)
  • 1 Integrated Home Base®
  • 1 Extra HEPA Filter
  • 1-Year Manufacturer’s Limited Warranty On Robot, 6-Month Manufacturer’s Limited Warranty On Battery

iRobot Roomba 870 Specifications

  • Package Dimensions: 20.5 x 5.5 x 16.5 inches
  • Package Weight: 12.4 lbs.
  • Robot Dimensions: 13.9 inches in diameter, 3.6 inches in height
  • Robot Weight: 8.4 lbs.
iRobot Roomba 870 Vacuum Cleaning Robot For Pets and Allergies Review

Nimax Notmindoma
Design Ideas Mail
Once a Month New Design Ideas

You will receive:

  • Top Ten Design Ideas In Different Rooms.
  • Tips and Trick to Use in Your Room Decoration.
  • DIY Design Projects.
100% Anti-Spam Protection100% Anti-Spam Protection
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

About the author

MaksMaks

Related

Then people think about robot vacuums, the first word that probably comes to mind is "Roomba," the signature...

JOIN THE DISCUSSION

Comments

  • fredtownward 29.04.2015 at 10:05

    I’ve never used a vacuum cleaning robot before so this will be gradual process and a gradually updated review.

    For the first time, I didn’t bother to schedule it; I simply started it manually.

    1st: The instructions could be a bit clearer; one touch to the Clean Button turns it on; a second touch is required to put it in cleaning mode.

    2nd: It couldn’t handle a loose doormat laid on top of the rug: I removed it.

    3rd: It had trouble with floor length gauzy curtains: I pulled them up and out of its way.

    4th: It did an amazing job maneuvering around obstacles; only chairlegs about its own width apart defeated it.

    5th: It really sucked up the hidden dirt and filled its bin twice on the first run.

    6th: The Virtual Wall device works to perfection; I had to back it away from the room entrance by several inches in order to get it to clean the floor up to the entrance.

    7th: It is very quiet in operation, so quiet you should have no problems scheduling it to run while people are asleep (but not in the same room as the sleeper!).

    I am VERY impressed with it so far.

    Reply
  • Michael J. Wood 25.04.2015 at 06:41

    Alright, I admit it. I really thought that the whole Roomba thing was pretty much a gimmick. There was just no way some “robot” could possibly vacuum better than a person using a regular full-sized vacuum.

    I was wrong.

    Bottom line: iRobot Roomba 870 Vacuum Cleaning Robot For Pets and Allergies is an amazing little robot vacuum, and works better than any vacuum we have in our home.

    The Roomba vacuum is very easy to set up, and within a few minutes you can have the next few weeks of vacuuming all set up and taken care of. It’s pretty much all ready to go out of the box, but the included quick start guide will direct you through the few easy steps it takes to have everything set up. Once programmed, it will automatically vacuum the area you have ready for it when you want it to, or you can manually ask it to clean at any time that you desire.

    Once you have it all set up, I recommend watching it the first time or so that you have it run. While the robot is pretty smart for a glorified vacuum cleaner, it still can get stuck under some furniture (although most is fine), or might have some trouble with small wires (anything the size of a regular extension cord will be fine, but fine wires might cause some trouble). Chances are pretty good it will navigate well in your home without any problems. I set it up in our “man cave” (or “cat cave,” if you ask the cat), being what I thought would be the most challenging area in our home–as well as the most likely to have stray cat dander. The Roomba did a great job navigating over different surfaces–tile in the bathroom, carpet in most other areas, a heavy rubber mat where the litter box is, etc. The area also had the most furniture and what some might generously call “junk.” Again, the Roomba did a great job navigating around the room despite the odd shape and placement of items in the room (semicircular desk, telescope tripod, kitty condo, bookshelves, sofa, etc). The reclining sofa gave the Roomba some problems (just high enough to start to go under, but a chance to get wedged in and stuck). Use of the “virtual walls” included in the kit made it easy to avoid trouble areas.

    After cleaning, the Roomba surprised again when it came time to clean the dust bin for the vacuum. Despite having just vacuumed a few days prior, it still sucked up tons of hair, dust and debris…more than the full sized vacuum had through the entire house!

    Like I said, it’s an excellent product, and gave a very pleasant surprise on how well it worked.

    Reply
  • JC 23.04.2015 at 09:06

    This thing is a game changer. I have thought about buying one of these since the first version, and always decided against it because the reviews indicated high maintenance and inability to deal with pet hair effectively. As a mastiff owner, this is the main reason I require near constant vacuuming.

    Realistic expectations are critical. This is a $600 machine – it’s not smart. I decided to compare it to any other *necessary* household appliance like a dishwasher or washer dryer. I still have to fold laundry, clean lint screens, scrape dishes, hand wash, sometimes hand dry. But those machines make life easier. So does roomba.

    The rooms need to be setup for success. The walls help confine roomba to the area you need cleaned – and it’s really not smart enough to know if it’s clean.

    The more you use it, the more effective. It can’t suck a golf ball through a garden hose, but it ambles about for an hour and fills up a bin. It does keep up.

    Pros:

    The psychology of not having a pet hair and dirt chunks all over the floor all the time is like some sort of all around mood enhancer. The floors are not spotless, but are usually clean enough to go ahead and mop without sweeping, and I can walk with bare feet without hearing crunches or getting dirt stuck to my soles. It’s wonderful. I’m 43, and never in my adult life has my house been this clean. This was not expected.

    Starts cleaning every morning at 6 AM. Alarm goes off, I stumble downstairs, start drinking coffee, and roomba is getting it done. I no longer notice. We have it set to focus on one main area – really one main room – every morning. It spends about an hour just going around like a trilobite, and easily has a bin full of hair and fine dust. We have hardwoods and iranian rugs – no trouble. When it’s done, it finds its way to the base, and sometime during the day we knock the bin out.

    We try to clean the kitchen floors twice daily, but don’t always. I have a commercial espresso setup, and the grinds are messy. We have 3 kids and a 200lb dog. The dirt on our tile kitchen floor is impressive. Food, hair, dirt, coffee. I no longer care. I quickly wipe anything from the counters onto the floor, because the robot cleans the floor. I press go and leave the house. Bam. Repeat after dinner.

    Our counters are always clean because we always wipe crumbs and trash onto the floor where we know the robot will remove it later.

    The key is knowing the limitations and workarounds, just like other appliances.

    Cons:

    Not smart. It does not know when a room is clean. We usually isolate to an area, then move to another area. It takes all of 20 seconds.

    Occasionally has battery errors, which I’ve always stopped by remove/replace battery.

    The full bin light lies – it’s usually not full.

    Does not magically reduce it’s own size to get between chair legs. Our chairs are often left raised onto the tables, but hey, this is minor compared to really gross floors.

    Reply
  • Daeanaira 19.04.2015 at 08:27

    First, I must disclose that I received this Roomba 870 as part of a program that supplies products to be reviewed – similar to the Amazon Vine program, although sadly, I have not received an invite to that one yet.

    With that out of the way, I also want to point out that a lot of reviewers receive products that they would not normally buy. I, however, already own a Roomba and wanted a new one desperately. My previous Roomba (a 560 model that I named Oscar) is a very picky grouch. Oscar works acceptably on carpet, but has a hard time with hardwood and is useless on tile. In order to get him to clean solid surfaces, I would have to tape two 3 lb hand weights to the top. That is not an exaggeration. When I moved to a house that was mostly tile, I basically gave up using the Roomba and he has been sitting on the dock ever since. I originally bought the Roomba because I have a cat who both sheds and kicks her litter around vigorously. I was sick of having cat hair and kitty litter granules all over the place and was upset that my 560 did not work well in this regard. Even when it would pick up hair, it would clog the dust bin entrance and need to be cleaned out every 3-5 minutes to continue working. It didn’t help that I have long hair and shed almost as much as my cat. It also doesn’t help that litter likes to find all the little crevices in the tile. It was a total fail.

    So, when iRobot came out with a model that supposedly worked well on solid surfaces AND was geared toward pet hair, I was a bit skeptical. I wanted to try it badly, but could not justify spending that kind of money when my current Roomba had proven itself to be disappointing. Luckily, I was offered the option to review the item, getting it at a steep discount. I gladly accepted.

    I popped the thing out of the box. The set up was incredibly easy. It prompts you to program the date and time right away so that you can set it to clean automatically. Then, you must let it charge overnight in order to avoid damaging the battery. I did this and it was time to test. Was the AeroForce technology going to make a difference?

    My bathroom is large, with contoured tile (not smooth), has as many nooks and crannies as an English muffin, and it is where the cat food and cat litter are located. It is the most problematic room in my house. That is where I started. I shook out my bathroom rugs onto the floor, letting dust/litter/hair/carpet fibers/cat food/whatever else create a decent sized mess on the floor. I left the yoga-like litter mat stay on the floor with a significant amount of kitty litter remains on its surface. I started the Roomba and got in the shower. I listened while it rolled around easily. It had the slightest issue getting over the thick mat in front of the litter box, but did manage to do it regardless. It circled the room for about 12 minutes, surprisingly quiet despite the constant variation in the tile. I let it dock itself and got out of the shower with my feet completely wet. I wanted to know what was still left on the ground. I walked all around the bathroom, including the litter mat and sat down to look at my feet. Despite being wet, nothing was sticking to them. Nothing.

    I let it roam around the rest of the house and it did an excellent job on both carpet and hardwood. However, after the bathroom experience, I already knew I had a winner. I realize this is an expensive item, but if it is a luxury you can afford, you should make the leap. Now that I have a keeper, all I have to do is pick a name. Any suggestions? ; )

    Please note that the 870 come with 2 virtual walls. It does not come with a lighthouse, and doesn’t appear to be able to work with one – although I haven’t confirmed this. I have 2 old virtual walls from my 560, and am going to test them to see if they work with my new one. Literature suggests this should be no problem.

    Reply
  • Rob S 18.04.2015 at 08:31

    This review is written from the perspective of two long-time Roomba users. We’ve had the 595 for just over two years now. The 595 had a couple of issues for us: it would constantly get caught on cables (hard not to I suppose!) and would “forget” the scheduled cleaning times we’d put in. We never really bothered to troubleshoot why since resetting the times worked, and we figured we’d eventually get a new one anyway 🙂

    We bought the Roomba because we have a dog who sheds. The amount of fur, dirt and dust was not enough to break out a big clunky vacuum so Roomba does a good job for our needs. The Roomba is scheduled to run a few times a week to keep our ~900 sq ft place clean with minimal work on our part. Would recommend this for people who have a fairly open layout.

    Pros:
    – Noticeably quieter. 595 sounds like a loud vacuum. This sounds like a precision tool.
    – Very easy to clean and empty.
    – Easy setup and scheduling. We have the Roomba scheduled to run while we’re away at work.
    – Virtual Walls are easy to setup. We have one blocking access to the media center to avoid moving the cables there.

    Cons:
    Really on the con is that we still have to “Roombify” our place when we leave in the morning, meaning we have to clear out room for Roomba to navigate. It still gets caught on cables, our towel rack that’s on the ground in the bathroom and base of rotating fan we have out in the living room. It also gets stuck in the low clearance under our bed. We hoped there might be some improvement here, and there is none.

    Still, overall a nice upgrade. It picks up a ton of dog hair and keeps our place nice and clean without having to own a vacuum cleaner 🙂

    Reply
  • Deidre512 13.04.2015 at 07:56

    In general, I keep a pretty tidy home… The Roomba proved itself as a very worthwhile purchase. My first test was to clean under my bed and I was amazed with the amount of dust that was under there.

    Pros:
    – Powerful. The Roomba picked up dust, foam nerf bullets, and small pieces of paper.
    – Easy to clean. The Roomba has a removable compartment to empty out after each use and 2 removable rubber covered rollers on the underside to clear off hair/thread.
    – Cleaning pattern. I found that the robot was pretty comprehensive in covering the full floor, even with obstacles to navigate around.
    – Home base. The charger is a home base that the Roomba will return to when done or when it needs to recharge.
    – Programmable. There are date and time settings you can use to schedule the Roomba to run on a schedule
    – Virtual wall. The unit comes with 2 small batter operated small plastic boxes that send an invisible laser line that the robot will not cross.
    – Size. The nature of the Roomba allows it to pass under furniture in order to clean areas that are difficult to reach with a traditional vacuum.
    – Set up. Very easy and straight forward to use.

    Cons:
    – Noise level. The Roomba is a vacuum. It sounds like a vacuum. I wouldn’t use it in a room while sleeping or while trying to read a book.

    Overall, I am extremely happy with this purchase. It makes it simple to make my house cleaner without a time investment from me. I also love the novelty of the fact that it is a robot. The Roomba makes cleaning easy and fun.

    Reply
  • Robert Farley 10.04.2015 at 05:53

    It cleans the areas it runs in, but it doesn’t always cover the whole floor. I moves in what seems like a random pattern and actually never gets all areas each time it runs. When it runs repeatedly, it usually covers the whole floor. It definitely reduces the cleaning effort and keeps the problem areas clean.

    Reply
  • trailmug 08.04.2015 at 17:59

    I was surprised at how well Roomba 870 cleans a large hardwood floor area of our home. We were having to use a broom and stick vac twice daily to keep things looking nice. It’s used primarily in a 800 square foot main area that is a complex shape with two hallways. I was initially concerned that we might have needed the 880 with its room-to-room lighthouses to help guide Roomba through the hallways, but it does a good job of discovering the necessary areas. Edge cleaning is pretty good, but sometimes it doesn’t go around parts of the room in the counter-clockwise direction necessary to fully utilize the spinning edge brush. Still, I think edge cleaning is better than the average person would do with a stick vac or broom. It can clean over floor mats and other small obstacles. It seems to be good at avoiding “eating” cords and fabric loose ends. Its movements are “random,” and it does not learn the floor plan like I’d initially suspected. It takes approximately an hour to complete its cleaning passes and re-dock. Considering that a full charge is supposed to run Roomba for about 1.5 hours, I would recommend multiple units for areas larger than this.

    It does a surprisingly great job of picking up debris from carpet (the bin was filled twice in a 17×15 room where we’ve lived for a year but not meticulously vacuumed), but the patterns it leaves in the carpet look silly. I would use it to augment traditional vacuuming in carpeted areas, or for a clean when time doesn’t permit traditional vacuuming.

    The new AeroForce systems seems to perform as advertised.. good suction with no tangling or maintenance.

    Reply
  • Deidre512 03.04.2015 at 07:35

    In general, I keep a pretty tidy home… The Roomba proved itself as a very worthwhile purchase. My first test was to clean under my bed and I was amazed with the amount of dust that was under there.

    Pros:
    – Powerful. The Roomba picked up dust, foam nerf bullets, and small pieces of paper.
    – Easy to clean. The Roomba has a removable compartment to empty out after each use and 2 removable rubber covered rollers on the underside to clear off hair/thread.
    – Cleaning pattern. I found that the robot was pretty comprehensive in covering the full floor, even with obstacles to navigate around.
    – Home base. The charger is a home base that the Roomba will return to when done or when it needs to recharge.
    – Programmable. There are date and time settings you can use to schedule the Roomba to run on a schedule
    – Virtual wall. The unit comes with 2 small batter operated small plastic boxes that send an invisible laser line that the robot will not cross.
    – Size. The nature of the Roomba allows it to pass under furniture in order to clean areas that are difficult to reach with a traditional vacuum.
    – Set up. Very easy and straight forward to use.

    Cons:
    – Noise level. The Roomba is a vacuum. It sounds like a vacuum. I wouldn’t use it in a room while sleeping or while trying to read a book.

    Overall, I am extremely happy with this purchase. It makes it simple to make my house cleaner without a time investment from me. I also love the novelty of the fact that it is a robot. The Roomba makes cleaning easy and fun

    Reply
  • D. A. Ross 02.04.2015 at 20:04

    I’ve been clinging to the same beat up Dirt Devil Vibe Upright (with Power Brush attachment!) since I bought it on clearance ten years ago. The suction is terrible, it’s as loud as a cement mixer, and it weighs about as much as that cement mixer. Needless to say, I have been in need of a new vacuum for quite some time, but never did I think that vacuum would be a Roomba.

    Truth be told: I always thought robot vacuums/sweepers were a bit of a gimmick, something for tech-junkies or, well, the lazy. So when it arrived in the mail, I opened it with both skepticism and cynicism, thinking, if nothing else, the Roomba would serve as a fun new torture device for our cat, Sherlock. As much as it pains me to admit, I am now eating crow. The Roomba 870, despite a few limitations, is an incredible appliance and I will (probably) not speak ill-ly of them again.

    My home set up: one-bedroom apartment, about 700 sq ft, tile in the bathroom and kitchen, carpet and throw rug in living room, bedroom and closet. One short-hair domestic cat who loves to shed, and one imported wife with long black hair, who also loves to shed. After spending some time with it, here is a list of Pros and Cons for owning the iRobot Roomba 870:

    PROS:
    * Solid construction. The Roomba is built like a tank, but has soft edges, so if it does collide with an object (which rarely happens anyway), no damage will be incurred
    * Surprisingly quiet. I can still hear the TV/stereo/conversation while the Roomba is running
    * No more spinning brushes that get clogged with debris! I didn’t realize what a pleasure this would be (specifically, it doesn’t choke on the tassels at the ends of the throw rug! Genius)
    * Fairly intuitive, easy setup. I’m certainly not ignorant of technology, but for time’s sake, I’ll always prefer simple programming. Can set up multiple, scheduled cleanings with relative ease
    * Long battery life and self-charging. The battery has yet to die mid-cleaning, as I don’t have a ton of square footage, but this is still a a great feature. The Roomba will find the nearest dock and park itself until fully re-charged
    * Collects a great deal of cat hair and dust, so it lives up to the pet/allergen claims
    * Strong suction. We have an issue of our cat trailing litter everywhere, which we’re constantly sweeping. The Roomba is easily able to suck up the litter granules
    * Transitions pretty smoothly from the tile to carpet. It only got hung up once, but only because it hit a warped part of the rubber carpet stripping.

    CONS:
    * Warranty. Comes with one-year limited standard, but with an appliance with this much technology, and at this price point, I would expect at least 5, if not 10, years of coverage.
    * Can’t use it on furniture, like our couch, which still necessitates owning another vacuum or handheld device
    * See above, for carpeted stairs (I mean, you COULD use the Roomba on stairs, but you’d have to manually lift it onto each step, thus defeating the purpose)
    * Dust bins are a little small, meaning they need to be changed after every cleaning, but I am willing to concede the overall size of the unit will limit this

    If you’re on the fence about buying a Roomba, take it from me that it’s worth the plunge. I’m now thinking of getting one for my mom and step-dad, who also own a cat, and just don’t have much time or energy to vacuum their place. And if you’re curious, besides functioning as a high-tech cleaning device, it definitely delivers as an entertaining torture machine for pets.

    Reply