LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Review

LG’s newest robot vacuum, the Hom-Bot Square (pronounced “Home Bot”), sets itself apart from the competition by offering a wide array of customizable cleaning modes designed to put you in control of the cleaning process.

Like most robot vacuums, you can set it and forget it if you like, letting it run automatically on the default settings. To really get the most out of it, you’ll want to experiment with the different cleaning modes. This isn’t to say that the Hom-Bot is high-maintenance, but it’s definitely better suited for users who want to take a more active role in their robot vacuuming, tweaking the variables to maximize cleaning efficiency. Fans of the television show “Breaking Bad” might remember that slacker homeowner Jesse Pinkman is a Roomba owner. The Hom-Bot, on the other hand, would be a better fit for a control freak like Walter White.

Fortunately, the Hom-Bot makes fiddling with the different modes about as easy as it gets. Just press a button on the handy remote to turn any one of them on. The Hom-Bot will offer a vocal acknowledgement of the change, then display an icon on the machine to help you remember what it’s doing. Once the machine has determined that it’s finished, it’ll automatically return to its charging station and sing a little victory song. And yes, there’s a mute button on that remote, too.

There’s no question that the Hom-Bot will do a decent-enough job cleaning your home, and it sports some undeniably cool features that the competition can’t match. However, the thing costs $799.99. That’s $100 more than a top-of-the-line Roomba, and $350 more than the Neato XV Signature Pro, which, after over 40 hours of testing, was our decisive winner in terms of performance. I like its overall polish and its tweakable settings, but without better vacuuming performance (or perhaps a price cut), the Hom-Bot Square is a difficult robot to recommend.

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Review

Construction and design

The Hom-Bot has an attractive and durable red casing with a sleek, rounded-square design that LG claims helps the Hom-Bot clean corners more effectively. The true implication is that the Hom-Bot cleans corners more effectively than the Roomba, and indeed, much of the Hom-Bot’s design seems specifically intended to one-up the Roomba wherever possible. The Roomba has one sweeping brush — the Hom-Bot has two. The Roomba has one primary cleaning mode — the Hom-Bot has two, plus five additional modes. Features like these might look good on paper, but it’s worth noting that none of them seemed to give the Hom-Bot an actual leg up over the Roomba in terms of cleaning power. It certainly wasn’t as effective as the top-performing Neato XV Signature Pro, either.

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Construction and design

LG’s other design features are more worthwhile. I’ll take the Hom-Bot’s small, simple remote over the Roomba’s bulky touch pad any day, especially given that the Hom-Bot remote nestles neatly and conveniently into the charging station, while the Roomba’s will inevitably spend most of its time as a high-tech paperweight on your coffee table (the Neato, on the other hand, doesn’t have a remote at all).

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Construction and design

The Hom-Bot’s HEPA filter-equipped dust bin was another plus. The cavity that houses it pops open with a gentle push; then, you just grab the bin’s handle and lift it up and out for emptying. It might sound like a little thing, but it’s actually an important upgrade over other bins you need to jerk out of their respective machines, often coughing out clouds of dust in the process. I also appreciated that the Hom-Bot is as quiet as it is, operating with a gentle hum that’s much less noisy than the competition.

Usability

As with most robot vacuums, getting the Hom-Bot going is easy. Just press the start button to wake it up, then press it again to set it off on a floor-cleaning quest for crumbs. But the Hom-Bot deserves a few extra points for usability, as its remote puts a plethora of cleaning modes into the palm of your hand. The default is Zig-Zag Mode, in which the Hom-Bot will bounce around somewhat randomly to figure out the space, then zigzag back and forth across the room. Press a button, and you can switch over to Cell by Cell Mode, which causes it to divide the room into a grid, then aggressively sweep back and forth and left and right within each square of the grid for a supposedly more thorough cleaning. In our tests, we didn’t see much of a difference in performance between the two modes, but it’s certainly worth experimenting within your own home.

Read also:  iRobot Roomba 870 Review

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Usability

Other settings were noticeably more useful. Repeat Mode will prevent the Hom-Bot from deciding that the job is done, forcing it to keep on cleaning the space until you tell it to stop. You can activate Turbo Mode to rev the robot up past its default speed for maximum suction (the Hom-Bot will do this automatically when it’s cleaning carpet). Best of all might be My Space Mode, which lets you use the remote to steer the vacuum around a small area and manually define its cleaning boundaries. From then on, the Hom-Bot will remember those boundaries and go straight to that spot whenever the mode is activated. Maybe you want to vacuum the cat’s litter box area every day, or maybe it’s the holidays and you want the Hom-Bot to pick up pine needles as they drop off of your Christmas tree. Whatever you use it for, it’s a remarkably handy feature, and one that seems obvious in hindsight, yet the Hom-Bot is the only robot vacuum to offer anything like it. Kudos to LG.

If you were so inclined, you could even activate all three of these settings at once, causing the Hom-Bot to clean your predefined My Space area at its fastest turbo settings over and over again, like a workaholic house-cleaner hopped up on caffeine pills. Would you actually want to do this? Maybe not, but the point is that you can. If you’re looking for a robot vacuum that you can tweak and experiment with, then the Hom-Bot might be the machine you’ve been waiting for.

Scheduling daily runs with the Hom-Bot is another straightforward feature, although, like a cheap alarm clock, you can’t set different times for different days, and you can’t program it to skip days. This makes scheduling runs a much less flexible process than you’ll get with the Roomba or the Neato.

By: Colin West McDonald / cnet.com

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Pros And Cons

Pros of the LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square

  • Does not slam into walls or furniture aimlessly.
  • Quiet and relatively powerful
  • Easy to empty dust bin; decent size dust bin
  • Does a good job of cleaning all areas of our home
  • Do not have to babysit the machine while running

Cons of the LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square

  • May not be worth the price (depending on what factors are most important to you)
  • We are already on the spare parts (brushes). It sucked up a iPhone charging cord (minor damage), but then sucked up a Toddler sock. That bent all of the brushes, requiring us to use the spares so soon. It kept running in “Turbo” mode on hard surfaces, which we finally checked underneath it and saw a wedged sock. So, User Error.
  • Maintenance. Dumping the dust bin is easy. Monthly, we scrub the vacuum. Cleaning the sensors, wiping it down, cleaning any lodged, small debris, and vacuuming the air filter with an Upright. We are OCD, so that may have something to do with it, but the fact remains that some upkeep needs to be done to it. It certainly is not as “tough” as regular vacuums. I am sure you could not do anything, but empty the dust bin, but to us, the cost does not give us the freedom to do bare minimum.
Read also:  iRobot Roomba 980 Vacuum Cleaning Robot Review

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Features

The Hom-Bot is packed full of features, making this little robot vacuum cleaner almost like a game.

There are seven automated Smart Cleaning modes which the Hom-Bot Square can perform, including Smart Turbo mode, which unsurprisingly increases suction power (and noise) when it reaches a carpeted area for example, and Turbo mode that you can select manually to increase suction.

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Features

The Cell by Cell mode divides the room into smaller rectangular sections that the Hom-Bot then tackles one by one, while the Spiral mode does exactly as you would expect, moving in a spiral shape out to 1.5 metres to spot clean, which is great if you have spilt something but don’t want the Hom-Bot to perform a complete cleaning routine.

Zigzag mode means the Hom-Bot will move back and forth across the room until it meets something, so if you have a coffee table in the middle of your living room for example, it will move up to that and then back to the edge of the room until it has passed it, after which it will return to going from one edge of the room to the other and there is also a Repeat mode to get everything cleaned again.

The Hom-Bot’s schedule mode is brilliant and can be set using the touch-sensive controls on the Hom-Bot itself. Once you have set the cleaning time and the frequency, the Hom-Bot will go about its business autonomously and it was the perfect maid as it didn’t miss a single cleaning slot during our time with it.

The one feature we really enjoyed though was the My Space mode, as this allows you to use the remote to define an area you want the robot to clean specifically. The cat enjoys pulling the soil out of a plant in the hallway for example, so we set My Space as the area of floor around it so we didn’t have a garden in the hallway every day.

You set the Hom-Bot to go into My Space mode using the remote and as soon as you press the button it shoots to the designated area. We had great fun defining the My Space area too as this requires you to use the arrows on the remote and it felt a little like we were playing with a remote-controlled car – it was good fun and very easy to map out.

The one thing we would criticise the for Hom-Bot however, is that you can only define one My Space area, which is a shame as it was a very handy feature and a couple of presets would have been nice to have.

There is a voice guide that will let you know what the Hom-Bot is up to, such as returning to its dock and the Hom-Bot also comes with a Mapping Resume Function, which means if you pick the robot up and move it elsewhere, the Hom-Bot will eventually return to its last position and carry on cleaning. Both were handy and added to the Hom-Bot’s very robot feel.

LG Hom-Bot 3.0 Square Specifications

  • Colour: Red
  • Functions: Carpet Master, Learning, Mute, Child Lock, Scheduler
  • W x H x D (mm): 340x340x89
  • Weight: 3kg
  • Dust bin capacity: 0.6 Liter
  • Filter: HEPA 11
  • Coating: 3D Effect
  • Upper camera (11-SLAM): Yes
  • Lower camera(OFS*): Yes
  • Noise Level: 60dB/62dB
  • Ultrasonic sensor: Yes
  • Charger(docking): Li-ion polymer
  • Charging Time: 3 hours
CES 2013 | LG HOM-BOT Square 3.0 Robot Vacuum Demonstration | LRV790R Robotic Vacuum Cleaner

Smart Review
Design Ideas Mail
Once a Month New Design Ideas

You will receive:

  • Top Ten Design Ideas In Different Rooms.
  • Tips and Trick to Use in Your Room Decoration.
  • DIY Design Projects.
100% Anti-Spam Protection100% Anti-Spam Protection
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Next article

LG VR64604LV Review

About the author

MaksMaks

Related

LG VR63409LV Roboking Square Experience a new level of clean with LG vacuum cleaners from LG. Boasting...

LG VR64604LV Roboking Square Dual Eye Robotic Bagless Vacuum Experience a new level of clean with LG vacuum...

JOIN THE DISCUSSION

Comments

  • Canthespam 29.04.2015 at 10:07

    It’s difficult to describe ones expectations when it comes to something as novel as an automated vacuum cleaner. Attempting to reign in my “Jetsons” fantasies, I assumed the multiple small rooms and furnished complexity of a traditional Victorian home would give any contemporary version of Rosie fits. And, it did. The layout was just too much. But the bot’s performance was still impressive.

    Initially, finding the 6 feet out and 4.5 feet to either side, along-a-wall, semi-circle free space for the home base required some furniture re-arranging, that’s for sure.

    A difficulty in the hallway:

    – Throw rugs – even those of medium thickness present a problem. One was large enough, with its non-slip foam-net underlay, that it managed to remain in place while getting vacuumed and was traversed several times, successfully. The smaller, lighter throw, however, was pushed along as its edge folded up and wedged itself between the drive wheels and the body.

    Challenges of a Victorian dining room:

    – Persian carpet – I tried folding the thin strands of fringe carefully underneath, but the resulting height differential is right at the specified limit. The bot’s ability to successfully hop on and off the carpet was inconsistent.

    – Dining table – while providing just enough headroom for the little guy to slip under the traversing supports, its 7 legs defined an unsolvable maze. The bot covered 3/4 of the room, after much difficulty and repetition, and turned back.

    Still, only the cruelest of sadists wouldn’t root for the little fellow to find his way to home base after obediently brushing up every unidentifiable speck of foreign matter from your carpet and floor. He’s practically worth resetting your furniture into a more algorithm-friendly configuration.

    Our kitchen, with kick spaces at *just* the right height, allowed the bot to comprehensively brush and suck the dirt away with aplomb.

    In retrospect, it’s difficult to imagine how the programming could be optimized any further. The bot’s maneuverability is outstanding, turning virtually within its own footprint. Attempting every directional option when presented with an obstacle, it will tenaciously find its way out of the tightest squeeze. The low noise level is also amazing – our small dog found the bot more curious than obnoxious (see photo). I can’t accurately judge the advanced learning ability, as the bot could only really master the L-shape of our tiled kitchen floor – not an adequate challenge. And the other rooms were just beyond its specs.

    Given the price tag, you’d really need to ensure that your room/floor layout is appropriate for the bot’s capabilities. His cleaning technique, ease of maintenance and operational qualities are all top-notch. And setup was a snap. But when it comes to a Victorian home, a real maid (or vacuum wielding spouse) is still the way to go, even 100 hundred years on.

    Reply
  • Chen Sun 25.04.2015 at 06:43

    My 1 bedroom (2 large rooms, kitchen, bathroom) apartment has carpeting that harbors dust mites, and I have allergies. What to do? Manual HEPA vacuum cleaners were designed for this job, but frequent vacuuming is such a drag. My objective is regular, automated HEPA vacuuming.

    I’ve previously owned Roomba 770, which, like Hombot 3.0 is also a HEPA vacuum cleaner. The Roomba 770 just came out in late 2012, so it’s their latest HEPA technology. This review compares the Hombot 3.0 ($599) to Roomba 770 ($499).

    Critical Concerns:

    1. HEPA effectiveness. The comparison is highly subjective, but I felt better after LG’s vacuuming than Roomba’s, and LG’s effects were longer lasting. LG’s HEPA filters appear to me as having significantly larger surface area, and the air-dust blow-out from LG is slightly less, enabling me to mostly continue staying in room while LG is operates. LG +4.

    2. Ability to clean a second room, without additional purchases. Roomba requires purchasing additional beacons, which are costly and require more set up. By itself, Roomba could not travel from room to room and return to home base. The LG achieved my two rooms joined by a small corridor without any difficulty. LG +3

    3. Maintenance. My recollection of the Roomba is that its very small HEPA filters need to be replaced regularly, adding to expenses and time, and that it was a bit harder to access these. LG’s HEPA filter is about 20 times the size and has a sponge front-end protection. And LG’s designers even thought of including internally a small cleaning brush very useful for cleaning the HEPA filter. LG then, lastly, even includes an extra HEPA filter and 3 extra brushes. LG needs to replace its instructions writing department–all these parts are much easier to maintain than reading the instructions. LG +4.

    4. Thoroughness in cleaning. LG has a mode for meticulous cleaning–again better for allergies; and its shape reaches better. Both units are far superior to manual vacuuming in areas these could reach. LG +3.

    Other evaluation criteria:

    4. Crawling out of challenging areas. LG is slightly better. LG +1

    5. Communications. LG sound talks very well. This feature isn’t valuable to me, but nice. LG +2.

    6. Bumping into things. Roomba bumps far more, but lightly. LG bumps less, but if bump, a bit harder. LG is also intelligent in that my second use, it bumps even less, because apparently, it memorized prior obstructions. As for hugging the walls comments above, LG did just fine, after the 3 vacuuming. LG +1

    6a. Bumping into sensitive or confusing things. Recognizes my floor standing computer and gently squeezes through it and chair to clean under desk. Gets confused by the barbells hiding underneath my bed and spends too much time there. Roomba handled these well too. In general, because LG memorizes the environment, it knows how to avoid in subsequent cleanings. LG +1 by third cleaning.

    6b. Stupidity. Hombot gets stuck at the most stupid places. For example, at my barbells. Another, edge of my bed. Nothing obviously obstructing Hombot’s movements, but it just stays there for an extended period of time. Eventually it moved. Roomba had comparable difficulties. Roomba +1.

    7. Speed. LG is faster LG +2.

    8. Noise. LG is quieter LG +1

    Other factors

    1. LG recommends an initial 5 feet radius hemisphere of clear space before beginning. I worked with as little as 1.5 feet, and it worked. Roomba doesn’t require this. Roomba +2.

    2. Extra parts included–LG +1

    Still need improvements. I’m giving LG a 5 star as compared to Roomba, but these vacuum robots aren’t perfected yet. Both LG and Roomba failed at these for example.

    3. Detecting small USB wires.

    4. Requiring removing some obstructions before beginning. Later, I’ll list obstructions it could detect or not.

    5. Cute name and favorite pet– Roomba is easier to remember, but Hombot has won my heart, in part because it is prettier, talks nicer, and smarter. A glossy red rectangle Hombot moving around looks a lot better than a black dot Roomba. 🙂

    Reply
  • GB 23.04.2015 at 09:07

    NOTES:
    1. It cuts down on the “dust-bunnies”. The LG can get under our taller furniture and picks up where dust likes to hide, which has significantly cut down the need to vaccuum up those dust balls that accumulate. In that regard, its been great.

    2. It has definitely cut down on our weekly vacuuming. We use to run it everyday, but that was unnecessary for us. We typically run it 2-3 times during the week and then do a regular vacuum on the weekends. That use to take some time to get into every space of the house, but with this LG augmenting, the time it takes to vacuum our house is cut by at least 2/3s. It might quite be that much of an improvement, but if it use to take 45 minutes to vacuum everywhere, it now takes 20 minutes. It just seems like we are spending way less time vacuuming. Perceptions can be reality.

    PROS:
    – Does not slam into walls or furniture aimlessly.
    – Quiet and relatively powerful
    – Easy to empty dust bin; decent size dust bin
    – Does a good job of cleaning all areas of our home
    – Comes with spare parts (also see CONS)
    – Do not have to babysit the machine while running
    – Worth the price, to us anyways (also see CONS)

    CONS:
    – May not be worth the price (depending on what factors are most important to you)
    – We are already on the spare parts (brushes). It sucked up a iPhone charging cord (minor damage), but then sucked up a Toddler sock. That bent all of the brushes, requiring us to use the spares so soon. It kept running in “Turbo” mode on hard surfaces, which we finally checked underneath it and saw a wedged sock. So, User Error.
    – If you are lazy (like us), then there will be times you miss a small toy, sock, charging cord, etc. and it will get sucked up into the vacuum. Be cogniscent of what is laying around before running it. It can handle it, but at $800 dollars, its pricey to be negligent with it.
    – Maintenance. Dumping the dust bin is easy. Monthly, we scrub the vacuum. Cleaning the sensors, wiping it down, cleaning any lodged, small debris, and vacuuming the air filter with an Upright. We are OCD, so that may have something to do with it, but the fact remains that some upkeep needs to be done to it. It certainly is not as “tough” as regular vacuums. I am sure you could not do anything, but empty the dust bin, but to us, the cost does not give us the freedom to do bare minimum.

    OVERALL
    We are pleased. Very pleased and would make the purchase again without hesitation.

    Reply
  • onebigunicorn 19.04.2015 at 08:29

    I was comparing this model to iRobot of my friends and parents.

    Result:
    iRobot was bumping in everything, noisy as a hell and missed a lot of spots not mentioning that it toked forever to vacuum our place.

    LG was quiet, I was able to watch a movie and my dog was sleeping. It is unbelievable how fast, intelligent, organized and efficient this vacuum is comparing to iRobot. (In first round it took him a little bit longer, but the second round – when it already new the route/place – was quick, so quick that I didn’t believe that it is done.)

    iRobot looks like retarded, noisy twin which doesn’t know what is doing.

    – picks up everything – picks up all dog hair – short, long hair – wife, bread crumbs and vacuums very well
    – doesn’t get stuck under table and find it’s way out
    – removable dust bin is nice.
    – It doesn’t have annoying voice.
    – it doesn’t bum in everything
    – cleaning is easy comes with cleaning brushes.
    – it is QUIET!

    Reply
  • Shannon S Doyle 18.04.2015 at 08:33

    I bought a Roomba 560 a few years back and while it “did” (emphasis on the past tense ‘did’) a good job at first, after about a year or so it it began to stop after a couple of minutes and constantly gave the errror message “clean brush cage” even when the brushes were perfectly clean and even when they were new. Online research showed this error message problem to be very common and suggestions were to completely clean the gear box etc. etc. which I did to no avail. The problem as one owner suggested is that the motor is simply running slower making the Roomba think that the brushes are dirty. I believe this is the case as I discovered that my Roomba would still work fine on bare floors just not on carpets where the going is tougher. You can replace the motor but the cost is almost the same as buying a whole new Roomba. So I retired it to just cleaning my bare floors and bought an LG HomBot…..

    The LG Hombot is definetly better engineered, very quiet (Roomba’s are very noisey) and the HomBot is much smarter than a Roomba 560 (don’t know about the higher models of Roomba.) The Hombot does my first floor (living room, dining room, hall and two bedrooms – I do the kitchen and bath separately) and almost always successfully returns to its charging statation after cleaning. Once in a while it can’t find it for some reason or another so just stops where it is and waits for you to “drive” it back with the remote control. The HomBot only has one main cleaning brush (Roomba has two) and I would have to say that it is not quite as good at cleaning as the Roomba. But I am fairly confident that the HomBot will still be running after a year or so unlike the Roomba. Will comback and edit this if it is not the case. But the cleaning job is pretty good and after you run a few cycles, it gets just about everything – partucularly the dust. The HomBot is easy to clean. The brush removes easily and there really aren’t any exposed bushings and parts like the Roomba has that get hair all wound around them. It is important and easy to clean the sensors on the HomBot. If they collect too much dust the HomBot gets all confused and gets stuck going in crazy patterns. As to the sensor function, they keep the HomBot from running into stuff better than the Roomba. And as I already mentioned, the HomBot is quiet. You can actually listen to music or watch flicks while it is working – you can forget that with the Roomba. I even closed my bedroom door one night and let it clean the rest of the house while I snoozed.

    The HomBot is pricey but I am hoping I am getting what I paid for which is better engineering and reliability. Time will tell that. But so far so good and I hate vacuum cleaning!

    Reply
  • AKN 13.04.2015 at 07:58

    I have four iRobots and was eager to try out a different brand to see how it compares. Frankly, I love my iRobots, so this has some stiff competition.

    This took a couple of hours to fully charge, then I put it to work in the kitchen. The first thing I noticed was the quiet. While my iRobots are quiet, this is silent by comparison. You can be watching television with this in the room vacuuming and never even notice the quiet hum it makes.

    This also is strikingly pretty. I love the color and shape and like that some thought was put into making this as attractive as possible.

    I also like how there are two spinning front edge brushes, compared to the iRobot’s one. Those two small brushes on the front do a great job of directing dirt into the main suction area in the center of the robot.

    This comes with some additional parts, new brushes to be exact, which is a nice touch.

    The docking station is large and the robot finds it easily when it is finished its task of cleaning.

    I noticed that the cleaning pattern of this is in a methodical, vertical and horizontal direction, rather than the iRobot’s zig zag random pattern, and while it makes more sense to us humans to go in a methodical pattern, as one would while cutting the grass, the iRobot’s random pattern really got the job done well. I see though that this methodical pattern leaves no inch of floor space untouched.

    This will find it’s way into closets if the door is open, or other small areas and rooms and have a hard time finging its way out, just like the iRobot. Eventually it does come out, but that closet gets uber clean while it hunts for the exit.

    I love the female voice this has. Anytime there is any sort of problem, or this gets stuck, that soft female voice announces it needs help. This did get stuck twice under cabinets in the kitchen. Someday hopefully they will invent a vacuuming robot that is more flat, so that it doesn’t become wedged under things. This also has a difficult time with electric cords and I make sure I keep all cords out of the way whenever I run this or any robot. Since I’m used to robots and have my hourse set up for them already, I don’t find this a problem.

    Now to the main thing I want to mention. This cleans really well. That hepa filter is large enough to really filter out the dust well, and this is something that, as an asthma sufferer is important to me. This does a superior job to the other robots I have in this regard, and is the main reason I am giving this five stars. I can smell the clean in the air when this is finished. I’m excited to know that with this running throughout the rooms on an almost daily shchedule, dust will be greatly reduced.

    This is a model that can be scheduled to run at the same time every day. I have tested this out for the past week and it is accurate as to keeping to the same time every day, automatically starting up and doing it’s job each day on time. Since the dust bin is fairly large compared to my other robots, I only empty it out every other day and find that is adequate to keep it emtied.

    Other than when this gets stuck under the kitchen cabinets, I love this thing. When I use it in the kitchen I make sure I’m in there doing chores with it anyway, and otherwise, in other rooms, it does its job without any need of supervision. I push the button and can leave it completely alone, and come back when its finished and not worry at all about it. Or, I can do other things such as watch television, something that is hard to do with the iRobots working in the room.

    This definitely earns five stars from me. I love it and find that the quiet and large hepa filter as well as its good looks make it a great buy. While I can’t comment on the reliability yet since its so new to me, so far this is a great robot.

    Reply
  • ZS 10.04.2015 at 05:54

    I will try to keep this short.(New robot vacuum junkie ) 🙂

    Let me start with the annoying things about newest vacuum cleaners.

    Roomba will test you’r patience with Running 1-2 hours longer than it should. When you see it for the 10’t time in the same spot you ask your’ self why?. It is also very loud. Every time it runs you keep asking you’r self why they haven’t improved it in so many years.

    Neato has smart navigation but sounds as a jet and because of that it can only be used with timer.It also lacks any ability to clean corners. It also breaks more than normal…Batteries are not optimal.

    On to LG…. It has non of the drawbacks of the two. It is smart as neato(daylight) it can clean corners and it is really quiet. It has the most logical/largest dust bin and is easy to clean. It’s the most “pretty” of the 2. But why only the 3 stars you think? IT’S BECAUSE IT GETS STUCK ALL THE TIME. Cables even the ones you hide,socks you forgot at some point,cat toys,it got stuck even on its own charger once and managed to climb on the corner of the wall and get stuck. Shaggy? Forget it. It enthusiastically climbs on to it to start with then it gets lost on it or gets STUCK.

    TO LG R&D and sales: The main brush is mechanically connected with the side brushes so if ether of those gets STUCK its game over.For the price of the boot you cold separate the three and give it a change to untangle. Why isn’t it round? It’s the most logical thing square things get STUCK more than round things. Put a bumper on it as sensors do not detect everything and it gets STUCK. Wider/bigger and chunkier wheels if you want it to go on shaggy rugs if not make it avoid them. Why can’t I help it and decide where it shouldn’t go? Maybe not on shaggy rugs? Some kind of magnetic strip or something. Why isn’t there a feature like myspace just called you will get STUCK here “avoid this area feature”? Side brushes/rubber on the top is also to hard and 50% of the time is the culprit for getting the bot stuck as it is not flexible enough to let a cable/material slide under it.

    Reply
  • Marisa Nitsch 08.04.2015 at 18:01

    I love my new LG HomBot Robotic Vacuum. I waited a month to review so I could try my new vacuum out daily and offer the best review I can. I loved it right out of the box and after the first use – but wanted to make sure that continued! It’s been a little over a month and I love it.

    The instructions are easy to understand and its easy to setup your new HomBot. You do need to choose a spot for the base that is easily accessible by the vacuum. It recommend space on each side of the base. We have ours setup in half the size recommended – so it is a tight space BUT it has never had an issue. It navigates perfectly and only once got caught on its extension cord to the base as we did not have it properly behind the unit. It will beep and let you know it is stuck IF that occurs. In the month of use, ours has gotten stuck twice – once with the cord and once trying to eat a sock that was under the bed. Its easy to clear up any issues and easy resume cleaning, or send it back home to its base.

    Our main floor where we use it is 1800sq feet. There are 4 bedrooms, bathroom, living room, kitchen and dining room. The HomBot can navigate easily to each and every area without missing any room or spot. Obviously its slower then a traditional vacuum but if you set it when your out – your house is clean when you come home. Its very quiet – you may even check to see where it is and if its running!

    We use turbo mode alot which is a more powerful mode. We have 5 Dogs, yes 5.. 2 of them shed so there is plenty of hair around for the HomBot to pickup. Add in 2 kids, and the HomBot has a workout in this house. Sometimes Id find myself vacuuming least a few times a week, now the HomBot does my job and saves on time for me.

    After each cleaning we do empty the tank and she (vacuum speaks clearly) will alert you to empty as well. HomBot comes with a remote control also which you can tell it to go back to the base, stop, pause, resume, or choose how you want to clean, such as zigzag mode and cell by cell mode. We have tried each mode and each work great. It cleans up hair, dirt, dust, cereal and many other items without an issue. Its side brushes really sweep stuff into the vacuum. We have all hard wood but a large area rug by the front door that gets alot of hair in it. That was its best test and every cleaning it looks perfect.

    HomBot also comes with extra brushes, filter and cleaning brush so that you have some spares.

    Camera system – This HomBot navigates around furniture, toys, even the dogs or you standing in the middle of a room. I’ve watched it go around a chair in and out of the wheels, under beds, and around our yellow lab and under her! It goes up and down ledge without a problem from room to room. And it navigates back home from anywhere in the house on command or when its finished cleaning or near a low battery. Thats impressive to find its base way on the other side of the house. It also cleans our house on one battery charge- so it has a nice charge to it to last that long.

    It also has options for scheduling, and a special my space programming – You can actually make a border around the area you want to clean with the remote (like guiding a remote control car) and after you make your border it saves it and knows that area to clean and only that area. Its basically creates its own barrier. The HomBot is also suppose to “learn” your house over time and clean more effectively. To be honest- I agree with that as over the month it has gotten smarter for lack of better words on how it cleans and where it goes and what areas, get more dirt then others. Its almost scary at times.

    Its way behind my expectation of a robot vacuum. Years ago I tried one and it was horrible. They have come a long way and I 100% love my vacuum!

    Reply
  • G.I Gurdjieff 03.04.2015 at 07:36

    I already own two Roombas and swear by them, but sometimes someone has a better idea and that better idea is the Hombot. While I am not ready to toss the Roombas, this is an undeniably impressive competitor that has an edge on Roomba technology.
    I suggest you read Amazon’s product description page which does a far better job than I could when it comes to the technology. HomBot uses cameras to scope out the area to be vacuumed and covers every square inch to insure that the entire surface is cleaned. It has side brushes that clean baseboards and its rectangular shape makes it easier to get into corners and tight crevices. It speaks and lets you know when the bin which holds its accumulated debris needs to be emptied, when it is done cleaning, etc. It also adjust to the physical surface of the flooring being cleaned. The main floor of my home has tile, slate, hardwood, carpeting, and area rugs.
    Not unlike the Roomba, the HomBot can get stuck under low lying furniture. Also, unlike the Roomba it apparently will not go under beds if a dust ruffle is present. Ditto for sofas and chairs with dust ruffles. The area I tested did not have those situations.
    I let the HomBot loose on my open concept main floor. I had vacuumed two days earlier with a Dyson upright. I was surprised by the amount of dust that was picked up. I had spilled a small amount of sugar and flour on the kitchen floor right before HomBot tackled it. Additionally, my husband had tracked in some grass after he mowed the yard. Everything was picked up and the good news was that two hours later there was no sign of ants where the sugar had spilled. When the HomBot was finished, I emptied the bin when I was alerted that it was returning to the docking station.
    Another thing about the HomBot is that it is quieter than the Roomba. Not a big deal, but if you like quiet this may be a huge reason to go with HomBot.
    Overall, this is a very nice robotic cleaner that does a very good job with virtually no negatives. Since I am still playing with this, I’ll update this review if I have anything new to add.

    Reply
  • Michael Countryman 02.04.2015 at 20:05

    First I would like to say that I have owned about 12 robotic vacuums over the last 6 years beginning with the Irobot red to the Irobot 760 with pet brushes. I have also own a Neato XV11, Samsung Navibot, and Electrolux Trilobite to name a few. my favorite has always come to the Irobot and the Neato second but Now I think that has changed.
    First I know that this LG Hombot is an expensive investment but I feel that it has many advantages over the other’s but is not perfect and will explain in a few.
    The most impressive feature to me and probably will be also for most is the noise or should I say the lack of it. This LG Hombot is so quite that I have to check to see if it is doing anything or has stopped. I run the LG anytime of the day and not only when out of the house like all my other models I have or have had. I will run it while I am watching tv or even while my family and I are dinning and is in now way a nuisance. As for noise levels the Neato XV11 is by far the loudest and sounds like a jet taking off but you get used to it. The Irobot Roombas would be next and then down to the very silent LG Hombot.
    The next most impressive feature would be its ability to navigate in and out of rooms and then return to base when charging is needed then return to cleaning when charged. Note: it does not always make it back to the base but then none that I have ever owned made it back to its base all the time either so no big deal. Charging time is about 2hrs for most part and the run time of the Vacuum is also about two hours which is about the standard time of all the other brands except the Elextrolux that is only about 1 hr.
    I like the simple touch buttons on the top that respond with very light touch and also has a voice system to acknowledge your selection plus also states any errors. I find that the cell by cell mode works best for me and cleans the best with very good corner and baseboard cleaning unlike the Neato that does not do great in corners or along baseboards. The zig zag works good for small rooms but I have a large house with mostly large rooms. The Turbo mode I really would only use if I want to just do a quick light cleaning. I like the remote with all the timer, mode settings and also a spot cleaning. I really don’t use the remote controls often on any of my robotic vacuums. The only thing I really notice that is missing from this is a type of virtual wall to keep the vacuum confined to a certain room if it were needed but my Irobot roomba has two of them still new in box because I never use them or the magnetic barrier for the Neato so for me it is not needed because I almost always just clean the whole house. The packaging is just enough without being overkill and I was really happy to see and extra set of side brushes, roller, and dust bin filter. Also included is a nice little cleaning brush for the roller but I always just clean the roller with my hand but is nice for people that don’t want to touch the hair or whatever may be on the roller. It will need to be cleaned after every few cleanings if you have any pets or long hair humans in the house like me.
    I like the dust bin location in that can be removed from the top like the Neato. The dust bin capacity is about average and about the same as the Roomba. I think the Neato has the largest one.
    Now for me I think I will probably be selling my Neato XV11 because the LG Hombot will be its replacement because I like it so much. I will still be keeping my Irobot Roomba though because when it comes down to just getting the job done and done well the irobot Roomba for my is just plane brut noisy cleaning power. But I also do really love my new LG Hombot and so does my wife. She does not fuse at me for using the LG when she is at home unlike all my other Robotic vacuums because the LG is so quite. The cleaning performance of the LG Hombot is very good and methodical with exceptional room mapping ability due to its upper and lower cameras. I have had it get stuck a couple of times on lamp cords so I just tucked them out of the way and now is no problem. I have not had any problems with the LG bumping into anything not saying that it will not from time to time touch something but it does not bang into them unlike the Irobot Rooba sometimes does. The Neato is very good for the most part at not banging into furniture also.
    Oh did I mention how cool this LG Hobot looks? It is very stylish unlike the Neato that is just kindof plain looking. The square shape is very helpful for getting into corners. The older LG Hobot version 1.0 is round and tends to get wedged under my kitchen counters so I really did not like that one. The new LG Hombot 3.0 is great and does not seem to have this issue.
    Overall would I recommend this Robotic Vacuum? For sure. Yes.

    Reply